COVID-19 update for Austin courses

Please read the following update with regard to Golf ATX:

Paw-zKKE_400x400Effective Wed., 3/18/20 – While all Austin Parks & Recreation facilities are closed due to COVID-19 restrictions, and the City of Austin and Travis County discourage public gatherings of more than 10 people, walking only at the City’s municipal golf courses will currently be permitted. Golfers are advised that course amenities will not be open or operational if they choose to access the golf courses. On-site closures include: pro shop, golf cart rentals, restrooms, food concessions, and other amenities. Golfers choosing to access the course should practice social distancing from other golfers, as well as use hand sanitizer when coming into contact with course features. Golfers should avoid congregating in groups larger than 10 people. This provision may change at any time by order of the Health Department or authorized City of Austin official. Please be aware of golf course maintenance crews working on site.

Golf ATX golf courses offer a great golf experience at an affordable price. The six city-operated public golf courses and one short-practice course are centrally located and minutes from downtown Austin. Each course is unique in design and setting, and golfers of all ages and skill levels visit the Golf ATX courses to play recreationally and competitively. Golf ATX – experience a round for yourself.

Posted in News | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Spring Championship is currently postponed

The Spring Championship is currently postponed until the city reopens the golf courses and the staff determines a new date for the event.    Here is the link to Registration

Posted in News, Scheduling, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

2020 Schedule is here

calendar-600 The 2020 Austin Amateur Golf schedule is now available.  We have unfortunately had two tournaments drop from next year’s rotation – the Great Hills Cup and the Bluebonnet Cup.

We have been in communication with Falconhead/Avery Ranch/Tera Vista, and they have shown some initial interest in filling a date on our schedule.  We will post updates to that, as well as anything else TBD as we get them.

rudys-cup Also updated are the All-Time Rudy’s Cup player records.  With his 3-0 record in this year’s event, Robert Evans moves into a tie with Chris Hartenstein for most all-time points, at 17 1/2.  Close behind with 15 total points is Steve Paterson.

Jack Cersosimo, courtesy of his 3-0-0 performance as a rookie this year, moved into a select club with Tim Hamm (2018) and Mike Minicucci (2010) as the only two players with a perfect Rudy’s Cup record.  Alex Ellis and Ryan O’Rear, both 2019 rookies, join Matt Fisher (2013) as players with an unbeaten record.

Posted in News, rankings, Scheduling | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Austin Wins the Rudy’s I-35 Cup 17-11

Congratulations to Captain Greg Smith and the Austin Team on winning the Rudy’s I-35 Cup in San Antonio. Austin won Sunday Singles 8.5 to 5.5 for a final total of 17-11.
Austin was lead by Robert Evans and Rudy’s I-35 Cup rookie Jack Cersosimo with 3-0 records. Adam Wennerstrom and rookies Ryan O’Rear and Alex Ellis finished the weekend with 2.5 points each.
This win is the first Austin road win in the event’s 11 year history.
Click the link below for final results from all of the matches.
Posted in Results | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

2019 Rudy’s Cup Pairings and Leaderboard

rudys-cup The 2019 Rudy’s Cup officially gets underway Saturday, Nov. 2 at Fair Oaks Ranch Golf & Country Club.  San Antonio is attempting to make it 3 wins in a row.  Saturday consists of fourball and foursomes matches, with singles matches on Sunday.  Pairings and leaderboard are available to follow the action.  Good luck Team Austin!

Posted in pairings, Results | Tagged | Leave a comment